PHILADELPHIA DISTRICT ATTORNEY’S OFFICE R. SETH WILLIAMS, DISTRICT ATTORNEY FY 2012 BUDGET HEARING STATEMENT APRIL 26, 2011

by

“Just one year ago, I sat here as the newly elected District Attorney of Philadelphia on my 100th day in office and outlined my goals for improving the delivery of justice and making Philadelphia safer. I spoke about the unacceptable number of cases that were dismissed, the feeling of helplessness among victims and witnesses, the need to be smart on crime, and the necessity of changing the way the District Attorney’s Office does business. With deep appreciation to the men and women of the Philadelphia District Attorney’s Office who fight for justice and victims every day, I am pleased to discuss how far we have come in such a short amount of time, what we can do to sustain these great achievements, and how we can implement new changes to make Philadelphia safer.”

“You will recall that when I came into office last year, our criminal justice system was broken. When I sat before you last year, I vowed to be smart on crime. And I said that being smart on crime did not mean that we would go easy on violent offenders or sexual predators, or that we would diminish our resolve to fight hard for victims every single day. Instead, I said that we would implement evidence-based practices, find appropriate alternatives to incarceration to reduce recidivism rates, and help to make sure our kids stay in school…”

The District Attorney’s full budget statement is available here:


