PHILADELPHIA DISTRICT ATTORNEY ISSUES STATEMENT IN RESPONSE TO TODAY’S PHILADELPHIA CITY COUNCILWOMEN AND NOW PRESS CONFERENCE

by

PHILADELPHIA (November 12, 2015) – Philadelphia District Attorney R. Seth Williams today issued the following statement in response to Philadelphia City Councilwomen and NOW press conference:

“While I appreciate and understand the concerns of the city councilwomen and NOW over the content of the emails, I have reviewed this matter and the individuals involved have been disciplined. Additionally, I have reached out to NOW on multiple occasions to sit down and discuss this matter in greater detail and to date they have refused.

“I agree that the material in question was offensive, but I would remind everyone involved that this behavior never took place in the Philadelphia District Attorney’s Office. My office has remained fully committed to doing the important work of making Philadelphia streets safer every day.”

###


